Posted on May 20th, 2011 by

Live Recordings:
Peter Sheppard Skaerved and Daniel Ben Pienaar
May 13th 2011 Wiltons Music Hall
Recordings courtesy of Colin Still (Optic Nerve)
Sonata in G major Op 78
Sonata in A Major Op 100
 Sonata in D minor
Wilton’s Music Hall


Friday May 13th 730pm

(Pre-concert talk 7 pm)


Kreutzer Quartet

Peter Sheppard Skærved – Violin (Stradivari 1698 ‘Joachim’)


Guest Artist –Daniel Ben Pienaar – Piano


Johannes Brahms –The Sonatas for Piano with Violin


Brahms – G major Sonata Op 78 (1879)

     Vivace ma non troppo – Adagio – Allegro molto moderato


Brahms – A Sonata Op 100 (1886)

     Allegro amabile – Andante tranquillo/Vivace – Allegretto grazioso (quasi andante)




Haflidi Hallgrímsson – Klee the Virtuoso (2011)

(World Premiere)


Brahms- D minor Sonata Op 108 (1886-8)

      Allegro – Adagio – Un poco presto e con sentimento – Presto agitato



Johannes Brahms on the first sonata (1879): ‘It’s not worth playing through more than once, and you would have to have a nice soft rainy evening to give the proper mood.”

We are delighted to able to welcome the pianist Daniel Ben Pienaar for his first appearance at Wilton’s Music Hall. In recent years Daniel Ben has won great acclaim for his epic recordings of cycles ranging from Mozart Sonatas to Orlando Gibbons.